Former world number one Karolina Pliskova has damaged the umpire's chair after repeatedly smashing her racquet against it in the aftermath of her controversial defeat to Greece's Maria Sakkari at the Italian Open.
Pliskova put away a simple smash which seemed to land on the line to give her a point to lead 6-5.
In the third set with the sixth seeded Czech serving 6-3, 3-6, 5-5 (30/30) she had an overhead shot incorrectly ruled out and both the line judge and the umpire said they could not find the mark.
Pliskova did not shake Mrozinska's hand and instead smashed her racket several times against the side of the umpire's chair, breaking the wood.
US Open champion Sloane Stephens held off a comeback from Estonian qualifier Kaia Kanepi in a 6-0 5-7 6-4 victory; seventh-seeded Caroline Garcia defeated Timea Babos 6-3 6-4 and 14th-seeded Daria Kasatkina eliminated American qualifier Danielle Collins 6-2 6-3.
The umpire called for the tournament supervisor to settle the debate and Pliskova was eventually convinced to carry on.
Pliskova's twin sister Kristyna took to Twitter to defend her, claiming Mrozinska as the "worst she has ever seen" and hoped that she would "never referee" a match involving herself or her sister.
- Sports wagering is a freedom, not just a source of state revenue
- Metro health officials confirm E. coli case linked to lettuce
- Mike Budenholzer reaches agreement to become Bucks head coach
- Bangladesh SC grants bail to ex-PM Khaleda Zia in graft case
- Bobby Brown, Cissy Houston remember Whitney Houston in powerful Whitney trailer
- Revealed!!! How Real Madrid caused Jose Mourinho and Paul Pogba row
- '4U: A Symphonic Celebration of Prince' coming to St. Louis
- Chelsea leading the race to sign Jean-Michael Seri
- Former Aston Villa defender Jlloyd Samuel killed in auto crash
- Romain Grosjean hit with penalty for 'ballet dancer' moment