Sunday, 26 May 2019
Latest news
Main » Ind vs WI 3rd T20: Chahal sees off Shai Hope

Ind vs WI 3rd T20: Chahal sees off Shai Hope

13 November 2018

Not only did he score a breathtaking 58 off 38 balls to register his maiden T20I fifty but also won hearts when he responded to the crowd at Chepauk who was screaming his name loudly.

The hosts needed only eight runs off the last two overs but somehow managed to bring it down to a run needed off the final ball. It might have been enough, but Shikhar Dhawan hit 92 and Rishabh Pant 58 to lead India past the line in a thrilling finish. Fabian Allen then took it to the last ball but a misfield allowed India to scamper the all-important single.

WICKET! KL Rahul departs for 17 as Oshane Thomas strikes.

India overhauled the 182-run winning target in the last ball and Rohit said he has been part of such close contests in the IPL.

Previous year in Sri Lanka, under Rohit's captaincy, India had clean-swept the hosts 3-0 in the T20I series. Chahal further came back to finish unfinished business second his second over to remove Hetmyer.

Batting first, the Windies rode on Darren Bravo's 43* and Nicholas Pooran's frenetic 25-ball 53* to post 181/3.

Washington Sundar, who took the wicket of Denesh Ramdin (15), was the other wicket-taker.

WICKET! Chahal does the damage again, sees off Hetmyer for 26 as Krunal Pandya completes the catch.

West Indies won the toss and chose to bat against India in the dead rubber.

When Chahal asked whether his batting skills would come to use in Australia, Bangar said: "You have been working hard, just that when you work hard on your fielding drills, you get exhausted and don't turn up for the batting session".

The visitors are going ahead with the same playing eleven.

India made two changes in the 3rd T20I, bringing Yuzvendra Chahal and Washington Sundar after the team management chose to rest Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav and Umesh Yadav for the inconsequential match.

West Indies produced their best performance of the Twenty20 worldwide series against India but still went down by six wickets, losing off the last ball of the innings in the third and final match at the MA Chidambaram Stadium yesterday. India will now travel to Australia to play over a month-long series which starts from November 21. With this win, Rohit Sharma surpassed MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Micheal Clarke, Shoaib Malik's captaincy record. They will also play four Tests and three ODIs.

Ind vs WI 3rd T20: Chahal sees off Shai Hope